Image Alt


Leh, the capital of Ladakh, is located close to Jammu and Kashmir’s east, marking a significant node along the ancient Silk Road that once connected Sinkiang with West Asia and the Indian subcontinent’s lowlands. You can feed your soul at the revered monasteries of Shey, Hemis, Alchi, Thikse, and Lamayuru, and your thirst for adventure can be slaked by participating in any of the aforementioned in the surrounding landscape of Leh, which includes mountaineering, white-water rafting, and trekking along the Markha Valley.

The Indian state of Ladakh includes a district called Leh. It is the second largest district in the country, after Kutch, with a total area of 45,110 km2.
Prior to the creation of the Kargil and Leh administrative districts on July 1, 1979, Leh was responsible for all of Ladakh. Since the late 20th century, religious differences between Buddhists and Muslims have been a cause of contention.
Leh was officially designated as a district of the newly constituted union territory of Ladakh on October 31, 2019, thanks to an ordinance enacted by the Indian Parliament in August 2019.